Uncategorized

Drafts – Logo

During one of my tutorials, I was given the idea that since I was doing branding, I should consider a logo and name so I could connect these pieces together as my own piece of work. I wasn’t sure if I was going to follow through with this, but I decided to try it and see if it would be worth it. I began by brainstorming names, once I had a reasonable amount, I quickly sketched what they would look like on a board and then had my peers vote on which name they liked the most. After a number of votes, “Delirium” was the most popular and so I went with that.

19073904_1283488065082888_14461344_n

I then started working on some initial logos and what I could do with the word. I wanted the logo to be word based and minimal so as not to create too much work for myself as I was didn’t have enough time to create a full logo and back it up with market research. I circled my favourite designs and took them into photoshop to begin my first and only draft of these logos.

19021941_1283488015082893_1611188890_n

The first logo was to have it hand written like so to give it a smooth and fancy style. I wanted to use this style and I would have used a font for this however I couldn’t find one that I was satisfied with, so I hand drew it with a tablet. I really didn’t like this logo in the end as it just seemed tacky and amateur. I decided to scrap this idea and moved on.

Board grip delirium 1

The second logo was very simple and to have it doubled to make it dream like and confusing, this was to connect the word to the design. While I do like this design, I’m not sure if this is what I want to go for as I want something bigger and bolder. I don’t even think I’m going for a logo but for now I’m just going to see this as a point to work from rather than something to consider.

Board grip delirium 3

This design I actually like, however it isn’t something that I would associate with clothing, it’s more something that I would see as a clothing line brand or a cafe. I just don’t think that it belongs here so with that I will move on from this to my next and final design.

Board grip delirium 4

Out of all of them, I felt like this was the only design that I could actually see on a skateboard. I really like this design and I wanted to take it a step further to see what I could do with it.

Board grip delirium 2-2

I decided to shift the top half of the word up to make it more disorienting and hard to look at. I did this on purpose to once again play to the words strength and have the logo make sense. I really like the size and the positioning of this logo on the board and I think that if I was going with a logo and a name, then this is the exact kind of thing that I would want. However I have decided not to go with this in the end, but to instead link all my work together as my own personal work for something like a portfolio. I have decided to print my personal logo and use that on my display as a way to link all my work together.

Board grip delirium 2-1

This is my personal logo, and it will be used as a front for my work. I think that this is the best way to get connect my work without the additional work. It also means that I can easily link it to my portfolio and for my facebook page.

A3

Leave a Reply

